Kale Chips: The Super Snack!

Standard

I’m sure most college students cannot get enough of study snacks, and considering the Freshman 15, maybe we should try to take this into consideration. I cannot help but want milk and cookies whenever I work hard on a project or while studying. I know chips is a huge thing with most students.

This summer I have come face to face with the most delicious and nutritious chips ever – Kale Chips! Now you may think ‘Yulch! Kale!’ I’m not the biggest fan either. I don’t mind it cooked but if you’ve ever eaten raw kale and liked it, you have strong taste buds.

Kale chips are not just delicious but can look really cool! Kale comes in such different varieties and colors, my absolute favorite is Red Russian.

I’ve had kale chips a few times and first of all let me warn you, kale chips taste 50 times better when the kale is fresh and local, so try to swing by your local farmer’s market to pick some up or here’s a thought: Grow your own chips! I’m sure many people have wished they could grow their own chips, well surprise! You can!

IMG_6416

So kale chips. Buy, grow, borrow some kale and clean it up real nice. Try to dry it a bit then rip the leaves a few times and mix them with a tablespoon or two of olive oil, lightly coating the leaves. If you want feel free to add a bit of salt. Then bake these chips at around 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Make sure the leaves are in one single layer and not on top of each other. Bake these for around 10 to 15 minutes, just keep checking on them it really depends on how crispy you like your chips.

IMG_6419

Leave a comment